When an individual decides that they would like to take the next and final step in the immigration process and obtain citizenship in the United States, they will have to take the naturalization test. The purpose of the test is for the individual who is applying for naturalization to show that they have an understanding of United States civics as well as a basic understanding of the English language. The test was redesigned by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services in October 2008 to ensure that all applicants have an equal chance at demonstrating their knowledge and understanding of civics and the English language.

The two components of the naturalization test are English and civics. The English language portion of the test assesses the applicant’s ability to read, speak, understand, and write English. The other portion of the test is to assess the applicant’s knowledge of United States history and government.

If the individual does not pass their examination on the first try, they will be able to try again at a re-examination interview. If any portions of the testa are failed after two attempts, they will be denied. It is important to be aware that some individuals age 50 and older or those with a medical disability may be exempt from either one or both portions of the test, depending on several factors.

If you have questions about the naturalization process, contact us today.

The Law Office of Neal Richardson Datta has over 25 years of experience guiding clients through a variety of immigration legal matters, some of which include deportation defense, petitions, and waivers. If you require the services of an experienced immigration attorney with the skill to effectively represent you, contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs

  • When does the 3-10 year bar go into effect?
    Read More
  • Who qualifies for the O-1A visa?
    Read More
  • What steps can I take to get a student visa?
    Read More